Risky Business.

Actually, not risky at all. It was just catchy. Today I’ll be talking about one of the most common struggles among artists who do art as their work. Creativity side versus Business side. Well, perhaps the title is somewhat relevant, haha.

Now, I’m still personally working out what works best for me as a solution, but for now here’s the generic scenario: The Artist, excellent with creativity and innovation, constantly making new merchandise (though at different paces depending on the flow of one’s fickle “muse”), is now presented with what comes with being one’s own boss – doing paperwork, saving receipts, deciding what is considered business expense, recording sold and unsold inventory, and keeping all other areas organized and in order.

I have so much I could create at any moment, but when it comes to the business aspect, I get anxiety, outright fear, and of course with autism comes poor executive functioning skills (summary: I have an extreme difficulty assigning values to tasks, and organizing which to do when). I am getting a little better with these things, with practice, lists, and asking others’ advice on their take on what each task should be valued at, as well as seeing where all things fit in my routine. I have many visual reminders and lists always at the ready. I think sometimes that it will always be a work in progress, and that’s ok. Having supports such as my husband, my family, my counselor, and others, helps speed my learning process. A side note: my planner has been a huge help, and I literally, very literally, never go anywhere without it (unfortunately, I didn’t learn how to fully utilize this valuable tool until my last year in college).

My advice to anyone who is struggling with the “official” part of your business is this list:

  1. Make lists.
  2. Take care of your routine first before taking on stressful newer things.
  3. Make time for self-care (I still struggle with this).
  4. Remember that learning is a lifelong process.
  5. Don’t be afraid to ask for help.
  6. Rely on your supports when you need the help.
  7. Do a little bit of your business-side every day so that it doesn’t build up, OR make a special day during the week that you do only business-side.

 

Leave a Reply

